How My Life Changed Forever

As a little girl of seven, me and my mama drove together into the driveway of a sweet church we passed by often. Little did I know, that at this little church, my heart would be ready for a future of amazement. Courage enveloped our beings. Hand in hand we were ready, in more ways than one, to take a step inside this church’s four walls.

And here I heard a message that altered my way of living, forever. My heart was soft and ready, fertile for the message of Jesus.

I heard all about God and His love for me and it changed me. It seeped all the way down into places only the roots of God could touch and heal. The message was of Him sending His Son, Jesus, for my sin. He gave His Son for me and my wayward heart. Wow, suddenly it made complete sense.

“For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.” (John 3:16)

Never once was the message of Jesus crammed down my throat. Scripture was lovingly taught to me, pointing straight to His love, His grace and His forgiveness. I wanted that as much as I needed it.

Something in me just knew, this was the path to eternal life with God. That day, my heart changed. It was just like a light illuminated the nooks and crannies of my heart that I never even knew existed. I understood the depth of my sin towards a holy God and accepted the gift of His Son Jesus as the sacrifice for my sin. His light filled my being.

“For You light my lamp; The Lord my God illumines my darkness.” (Psalm 18:28)

Twenty years have passed since I heard and accepted the Gospel of Jesus as mine, and my heart still bursts with joy for it. For Jesus my once dim heart shines, for Jesus I owe it all.

“For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes..” (Romans 1:16a-b)

Leave a Reply

