You Choose, You Decide

The other day a speaker was talking about his favorite poem. I listened a little more closely because the poem he talked about was my favorite during high school. It was “The Road Not Taken,” by Robert Frost. More than 37 years have past since high school.

As I listened to this man speak, I could relate. With all the different opportunities available, it is difficult to decide which way to go. Life is full of numerous different paths, but I must choose the ones I take. 

Your word is a lamp to my feet And a light to my path.” (Psalm 119:105)

God’s Word is the standard for people. It’s like a plumb line to keep those who obey it straight. The Bible illuminates wisdom to help in our decision making and keeps us headed in the right direction. It shows the way to go.

Our Creator designed people with the ability to make choices. It’s not so much which path we choose to take, but how we live as we walk down that path that really matters.

He has told you, O man, what is good; And what does the Lord require of you But to do justice, to love kindness, And to walk humbly with your God?” (Micah 6:8)

In light of the requirements of God listed above, doing righteousness, loving kindness, and living in humility, (YIKES! That’s quite a list), it is comforting to know the One who walked it perfectly and to trust in Him alone to lead the way that I am to go.

Thomas said to him … How can we know the way?” (John 14:5b)

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” (John 14:6)

The choice is ours. Who are we going to trust in to get us the approval of The Father, ourselves and our own righteousness and humility, or in Jesus and His? I have made my decision. I choose to trust in Jesus. Now you choose. You decide.

Leave a Reply

