Fall in Maine

uAdd a little bit of body text (1)I can already see some of my British friends roll their eyes that I have started to call Autumn, Fall. Of course only in fun, the British love to tease.

I love this season! I enjoy parts of every season, but I think I enjoy everything about Fall. I like that it comes after summer, so I make the most of the fact that I can enjoy wearing a jumper, or as the Americans call them, sweaters. I love that there is a breeze and I very much enjoy pumpkin flavour everything!

IMG_20171009_135238-EFFECTS

My favourite part of Fall here in Maine, are the trees. The beauty of the leaves changing colour is breathtaking. In Maine, for those of you who do not know, there is an abundance of trees. So this season is shown in such a majestic way. It makes me think how clever God is, that even in this process of leaves dying, there is beauty.

Change is all around us, this season reminds me of that. Our World, this life is ever changing. Change can be a scary thing and very uncertain. When we go through change, we can take comfort that we have an unchanging God.

Hebrews 13:8

Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and to day, and for ever.

Jesus Christ doesn’t change because He is perfect. He does not need to change. He is the one constant in our lives that we know we have forever.

IMG_20171009_135322

I have had many changes in my life, especially within the last four years. Moving across the pond, getting married and having two children. God has blessed me with these changes.

However, some changes are so hard. Living in a new place that is unfamiliar, especially at the beginning was hard. I missed my family and friends in Britain so much. God is good, He has equipped me to deal with this change. I still miss my family but I have been given a new family. I still miss my friends but I have formed wonderful close friendships here too.

I truly believe that change is for our benefit. God wants us to change to become more like Him. To mature in the faith and love Him and rely on Him above all others. I am looking forward to that ultimate change, when we meet Him in the air.

1 John 3:2

Beloved, now we are children of God; and it has not yet been revealed what we shall be, but we know that when He is revealed, we shall be like Him, for we shall see Him as He is.

2 thoughts on “Fall in Maine

  1. This is such a precious and beautiful devotion & I really appreciate it! I was just thinking of how I often longed to see New England but didn’t know what season or which state and in 1990, God chose for my husband Don and I and our daughter to move to Bath, ME and we’ve been here 27 years! God knew just what would be best even before I was married or a mother. He is faithful in all that He promises! We can run to Him when we need his counsel. He allowed me to even meet a wonderful friend from England and only He could have put that together! He is the Everlasting God and I praise Him for being with my family and I every step of the way! Proverbs 16:9

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

